State Elections

Western Australia has two houses of State Parliament, the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council.

Following amendments to electoral legislation in 2011, State General Elections for both houses are now held every four years on the second Saturday in March. The next State general election in Western Australia is scheduled to be held on 13 March 2021.

Western Australia is divided into 59 Legislative Assembly districts and six Legislative Council regions. During an election, one candidate is elected for each Legislative Assembly district and six candidates are elected for each Legislative Council region.

Voting systems in Western Australia

Vacancy in the North Metropolitan Region

On 13 September 2016, the Electoral Commissioner was informed by Her Excellency the Governor that the Hon. Ken Travers, member for the North Metropolitan Region had resigned and his position had become vacant.

In accordance with legislative requirements, the vacancies were advertised on 17 September 2016 in The West Australian and The Australian newspapers. Nominations closed at 12.00 noon on 27 September 2016.

At the close of nominations the Electoral Commissioner had received one nomination for the North Metropolitan Region vacancy, from Ms Laine McDonald of the Australian Labor Party.

Ms Laine McDonald was duly elected unopposed.

Past elections

The Commission has results and publications for all State electoral events available electronically from the 1993 State election, including by-elections.

A by-election is held when an elected Member of the Legislative Assembly vacates their seat for any reason (e.g. resignation) which is not due to the expiration or dissolution of Parliament. The affected electorate then votes to elect a new member.

If a vacancy arises in the Legislative Council, a recount of votes cast at the previous general election is held in order to fill the vacancy. If no consenting qualified candidates who contested the previous election in that region are available, a fresh election must be held.

Past election results